ClaviCologne Sea of Sounds

International Piano Festival • 30 July – 7 August 2024

30 July –
7 August
Competition · Concerts

composer-in-residence About

Alexey Shor was born in Kiev in 1970, immigrated to Israel in 1991 and now lives primarily in the USA.

His compositions have been performed at many prestigious concert halls including Wiener Musikverein, Berlin Philharmonie, Carnegie Hall, Kennedy Center (Washington DC), Great Hall of Moscow Conservatory, Mariinsky Theatre (St. Petersburg), Kremlin Palace (Moscow), The Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Gasteig (Munich), Wigmore Hall (London), Teatro Argentina (Rome) and many others. 

Concerts featuring his music have been broadcast on MediciTV, Mezzo and Euronews. The Overture to his ballet “Crystal Palace” was performed at the 40th Gramophone Classical Music Awards ceremony in London and in 2018 he was awarded an honorary professorship at the Komitas State Conservatory of Yerevan.

Mr. Shor’s scores are published by Breitkopf & Hartel and P.Jurgenson.

CDs with his compositions have been issued by Warner Classics, DECCA, SONY Classics, Delos, Berlin Classics and Melodiya.

Mr Shor serves as Composer-In-Residence for the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra Academy and Armenian State Symphony Orchestra, and since 2017 has held the post of Composer-in-Residence for the Malta International  Music Festival and Malta International Piano Competition, the next edition of which will be held in 2021. 

Mr. Shor’s works have been performed by many internationally acclaimed soloists and ensembles, including (in alphabetical order) Salvatore Accardo, Anna Aglatova, Boris Allakhverdyan, Boris Andrianov, Nareh Arghamanyan,  Guy Braunstein, Shirley Brill, David Aaron Carpenter, Ray Chen, Veronika Dzhioeva, Narek Hakhnazaryan, Alexander Ghindin, Andrei Ioniță, Anna Kasyan, Haik Kazazyan, Freddy Kempf, Khachaturian Trio, Alexander Kniazev, Philipp Kopachevsky, Denis Kozukhin, Victor Julien Laferrière, Ji Young Lim, Jan Lisitski, Daniel Lozakovich, Paul Meyer, Shlomo Mintz, Nikita Mndoyants, Andreas Ottensamer, Duo Paratore, Alexander Ramm, Vadim Repin, Alexander Romanovsky, Jonathan Roozeman, Karen Shahgaldyan, Alessandro Taverna, Maxim Vengerov, Trio Wanderer, Ingolf Wunder, Nikolaj Znaider and many others.

Mr Shor also holds a Ph.D. in mathematics.